Thursday, November 3, 2016

Alternate History - Louisiana

A little something I'm working on

This starts when the US fights, but loses, their rebellion for Independence. Britain lets most of the leaders off with amnesty, but a dozen of the top leaders: Washington, Hancock, Jefferson, Gates, Greene, Arnold, Howe, Lee, Jay, Adams, King, and Pinckney, were hanged. The Rebellion was officially declared "put down" in 1781.

As a result, the 13 colonies are given limited autonomy, but are prohibited from meeting in a continental congress. Limited compromises are also made on land open to settlement.

Many Colonists simply ignored the new laws, while others swing back to support the Crown.

Napoleon, after winning power in France, tried to foment rebellion in the 13 colonies, and this worked; sadly, not fully as intended.

Over the next 15 years, colonists begun to settle in Louisiana. With support from the small but isolated Vermont Republic, and other outside forces, colonists were able to gather the money to purchase the territory for themselves. In 1812, this broke into war with the Colonies facing many of their own colonists, as well as the "Free Louisiana Republic" of FLR. The war ended in 1815 with an effective stalemate; areas already under control of the colonists were joined to the FLR while areas held by the British and their Colonies would remain under the Crown; an agreement officially agreed to by the Congress of Vienna. The borders would follow the watershed boundaries by in large.

In 1833, the British decided to abolish slavery. This started a rebellion in parts of the 13 colonies. The Reformist Whig government in London decided not to directly intervene, and after a war lasting 2 years, the 13 colonies was divided into two highly independent colonies, New England, and the United States.

By 1846, the FLR, along with Texas, sparked the Mexican-Louisiana War. Upon winning, Texas is joined to the FLR. Settlers in the Mexican "Northern Territories" wanted to join with the nation, but the FLR government, not having designs on a border with the pacific, refused. In 1848 an effective proxy war, between those in the FLR who back this idea, and Mexico, breaks out. By 1850, with the support of Californian settlers, and Mormon settlers, the Republic of Deseret is set up in the area.

Between 1850 and 1874 small wars and skirmishes break out between the 7 main colonies on the continent. Following a near continent-wide war in 1874, the 7 colonies agree to meet, on the 100th anniversary of the Continental Congress, in Philadelphia. This was a great success, and the 7 nations; Mexico, Quebec, Columbia, Deseret, New England, The United States, and Louisiana, agreed on the permanent and final borders, as well as on limited trade deals. The 7 nations agreed they would meet annually in the city to discuss continent-wide issues.

Peace and Economic Growth would continue between 1874-1914.


At the start of the war, in 1939, the map looked like this:

When the war began


No comments:

Post a Comment